Merseyrail annouce timetable for strike on Saturday 24th August

Merseyrail Electrics train at Maghull station.
Merseyrail Electrics train at Maghull station. Credit: Merseyrail

Merseyrail has released its timetable for the upcoming strike action by guard members of the RMT union on Saturday 24 August.

A limited service will call at selected stations across the network between approximately 7am and 7pm.

All trains will run with 6 carriages.

There will be no services on Merseyrail’s Kirkby and Hunts Cross lines and services will start and terminate at Hooton station on the Chester and Ellesmere Port lines.

Passengers with a valid season ticket will be able to use selected bus routes in the City Region, details of which can be found at

Passengers travelling between Chester and Liverpool with a valid ticket can use the Transport for Wales service.

Customers will find information online at from today and can pick up a leaflet from stations on the Merseyrail network from Monday 19 August.

What did the officials say?

Managing Director of Merseyrail, Andy Heath, said:

“It’s extremely disappointing that our customers have to suffer further strike action on the Merseyrail network.

“We have met the demands of the RMT twice and on both occasions they have moved the goalposts. We have met the aspirations of the RMT and our customers, who were clear that they wanted a second person on all trains and we had two jointly established deals to guarantee that.

“We are running the best possible service that we can on the upcoming strike day and I would like to apologise to all of our customers who will be affected.

“Our monthly and annual season ticket holders will be compensated for a day of travel for each strike day given the effect that the disruption may have on their journeys. We will be writing to them in due course.”

Where Next?

News Homepage
   For the Latest Railway News
RailAdvent Online Shop
   Framed Prints, DVD’s / Blu-Ray’s and more
LocoStop Community
   Come and share your railway pictures


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here